Two rounds into the inaugural season of the ASB1000 class has yielded four winners on board four different makes in four separate races.

Malaysians Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman and Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi fired the first salvo at the season opener in Sepang. Azlan piloted his brand new BMW to the win in Race 1 while Honda rider Zaqhwan stormed his way through a rain-drenched Sepang circuit to clinch the second win.

In Australia, Kawasaki took their turn at the top of the podium through replacement rider Bryan Staring’s impeccable performance in Race 1. In Race 2, Broc Parkes lived up to his top billings when he took his Yamaha R1 to its first ARRC win.

Broc, who is racing for the Yamaha Racing Team ASEAN in the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship, leads the ASB1000 class as they head to Round 3 at the Chang International Circuit in Buriram, Thailand. The Yamaha stalwart holds a 21-point advantage over Zaqhwan Zaidi. Broc’s team mate, Yuki Ito has a strong track record at the Chang International Circuit and would be a threat to Zaqhwan’s position as he hunts for his first ASB1000 podium.

After a strong start in Sepang, Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman picked up two fifth places in Australia and has dropped down to fourth overall with 47 points.

Kawasaki Thailand Racing Team’s replacement rider Bryan Staring came into the series with a bang. Bryan debut at fifth in the rankings with a win and a second place finish in Australia.

The home team, Yamaha Thailand Racing Team, will be also be strategizing for a strong performance in Buriram. Over the past five years, the team had collected a whopping 32 podiums in Buriram. Apiwat Wongthananon and Ratthapong Wilairot will be under tremendous pressure to do well in front of their home fans.

Amidst the big names, Ahmad Yudhistira has succeeded in bringing his near-standard Yamaha R1 to ninth overall in the standings while ARRC newcomer TJ Alberto from the Philippines maintained his position at tenth in the rankings.