Rheza Danica Ahrens took another leap towards clinching the 2018 Asia Production 250cc title with a fifth consecutive win at the Madras Motor Race Track, host to Round 4 of the 2018 FIM Asia Road Racing Championship. The Astra Honda Racing Team rider who has been on a winning streak, effortlessly notched up another victory in Race 1 with 21’53.387s.


Meanwhile, Rheza’s team mate, Mario Suryo Aji again finished second with 21’53.515s for the fifth time this season. The Astra Honda Racing Team duo managed to stretch out a big gap ahead of the chasing group, especially on Lap 3 when their closest competitor, Anupab Sarmoon retired from a busted engine.


By Lap 9, Rheza, Mario and compatriot Rey Ratukore had extended a 5-second lead, leaving Awhin Sanjaya, Anggi Setiawan, Peerapong Boonlert, Rafid Topan Sucipto and Richard Taroreh to fight for P4.


As the chequered flag came down on Lap 12, Rey Ratukore who had been racing conservatively in P3 since Lap 4, brought home another podium finish for the ONEXOX TKKR Racing Team.


Rafid Topan Sucipto won the second group battle in fourth place followed by Awhin Sanjaya in fifth. Peerapong Boonlert’s race ended in disappointment when he crashed out at the last corner.