The season opener of ARRC came to a victorious end for the Thais when Apiwath Wongthananon of YAMAHA Thailand Racing Team won the ASB1000

The season opener of FIM Asia Road Racing Championship came to a victorious end for the Thais when Apiwath Wongthananon of YAMAHA Thailand Racing Team emerged fastest in the ASB1000 category.

The mind-blowing session witnessed the performance of highly competitive riders who ramped up their efforts in the last race of the season to grab the winning title.

Apiwath who took the second row on the grid picked up speed in the first three laps while competing with Haruki and Zaqhwan before taking the lead in lap four. The race saw a robust stride between the trio as they took turns to be at the top three position.

In lap seven, Apiwath fell behind landing him in fifth position but quickly regained his pace to catch up with his top contenders. While Zaqhwan took the lead and Haruki followed close behind, Anupab glided into the top three position and Apiwat continued to strengthen his pace. By the twelfth lap, Apiwath managed to circle in to the top three position.

The final lap saw a hard fight between the three big names and at the final turn, it was a neck-to-neck between Apiwath and Zaqhwan.  Towards the last seconds of the race, the vigorous Yamaha YZF-R1M rider beat Zaqhwan to the draw, clocking in at 21:02:530s.

“I made a slip in the mid of the laps however I was quick to pick it up and re-strategise. I am very pleased to have won the race because this was an extremely tough race.”

Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi of Honda Asia-Dream Racing with Showa fell to the second spot at the podium, logging in at 21:02:704s.

Anupab Sarmoon who was trailing close behind the trio finished third at 21:04:032 presenting a double win for the YAMAHA Thailand Racing Team.

Top 5 Riders of ASB1000, Race 2:

  1. Apiwath Wongthananon (THA), YAMAHA Thailand Racing Team, 21:02:530s
  2. Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (MAS), Honda Asia-Dream Racing with SHOWA, 21:02:704s
  3. Anupab Sarmoon (THA), YAMAHA Thailand Racing Team, 21:04:032s
  4. Haruki Noguchi (JPN), SDG Motor Sports HARC-PRO Ph, 21:03: 891s
  5. Passawit Thitivararak (THA), Astemo SI Racing with Thai Honda, 21:07:417s

Connect with Us!

Latest news at asiaroadracing.com