The start of the SS600 Race 2 was red flagged following multiple crashes in the opening lap. Soichiro Minamimoto, Ahmad Afif Amran, Rei Toshima, and Ratthapong Wilairot were caught out in separate incidences by a few oil spill left on the track following the AP250 race earlier.

Thankfully, the riders walked away from the crashes without serious injuries. The Akeno Speed YAMAHA Racing Team did a phenomenal job turning Minamimoto’s bike around in time for him to rejoin the grid 15 minutes later.

Race 2 was re-started with the original 10 laps cut down eight. Straight off the bat, the Malaysian riders’ expertise at the 5.5km Sepang International Circuit was hard to beat. 2018 SuperSports 600cc champion Ratthapong Wilairot gained the early lead on Lap 1 but dropped down to P5 within the space of a lap when Azroy Hakeem came charging to the front with Adam Norrodin, Ibrahim Norrodin and Helmi Azman in tow.

The remainder of the SS600 Race 2 turned into an all-Malaysian affair at the front, pitting the Yamahas of the PACHI ZK Racing against the Hondas of the Boon Siew HONDA Racing Team.

Adam Norrodin led from Lap 5 to the last corner, indifferent to the pressure piled on him by the chasing trio. Adam barely missed a step even as Ibrahim tried to pull off an ambitious last lap-last corner overtaking move on him. Unfazed, Adam raced to the finish line to claim his first win of the season with 17’36.715s.

Ibrahim, in contrast, fell victim to his own reckless move. The younger Norrodin sibling low-sided out of the race within meters of the finish line. Instead of a ZK Racing 1-2, the incident handed the final two podium positions to Azroy Hakeem Anuar and Helmi Azman.

Ratthapong Wilairot improved on his finishing position in Race 2. The Thai Yamaha rider closed his weekend in fifth.

Ramdan Rosli crossed the finish line in sixth followed by Soichiro Minamimoto, McKinley Kyle Paz, Sota Furuyama, Ahmad Yudhistira and Troy Alberto.

SS600: Top 5 Race 2 Results

  1. Adam Norrodin (MAS) (Yamaha)                        17’36.715s
  2. Azroy Hakeem Anuar (MAS) (Honda)                 17’37.563s
  3. Mohd Helmi Azman (MAS) (Honda)                   17’38.151s
  4. Ratthapong Wilairot (THA) (Yamaha)                17’42.566s
  5. Mohd Ramdan Rosli (MAS) (Yamaha)                17’47.986s

SS600: Top 5 Standings After Round 1

  1. Azroy Hakeem Anuar (MAS) (Honda)                45 pts
  2. Adam Norrodin (MAS) (Yamaha)                       34 pts
  3. Mohd Helmi Azman (MAS) (Honda)                  29 pts
  4. Soichiro Minamimoto (JPN) (Yamaha)               21 pts
  5. Ahmad Afif Amran (MAS) (Yamaha)                  20 pts

SS600: Top 5 Team Standings After Round 1

  1. Boon Siew HONDA Racing Team                        74 pts
  2. PACHI ZK Racing                         50 pts
  3. YAMAHA GEN BLU Racing Team                        37 pts
  4. Akeno Speed YAMAHA Racing                         31 pts
  5. ONEXOX TKKR SAG Racing Team                        21 pts