The Astra Hondas were again untouchable in Race 2 at Sentul, as Rheza Danica Ahrens and Awhin Sanjaya steamed away from the rest of the field, initially with team-mate Mario Suryo Aji, who then fell out of the reckoning for the third race in succession.

Awhin made another perfect start to lead off the line, followed by Andy Fadly, Mario, Anuparb Sarmoon and Rheza, who messed up his launch once again. By lap two it was an Astra Honda 1-2-3, with Fadly and Rafid Topan Sucipto making determined efforts to spoil the party. Anuparb fell back into the clutches of a chasing group of seven bikes led by Muklada Sarapuech.

Just as it looked like an Astra Honda podium lockout, Mario crashed heavily at Turn 9 on lap eight of 12, leaving Fadly and Rafid to dispute third. On the last lap, assumptions of team orders that would see Awhin make way for Rheza to win were dismissed, as the team-mates swapped positions and snapped at each other. Awhin got the better of his team-mate on this occasion to take his first AP250 win. Rheza looked displeased on the slowing down lap, though a smile made it to his face as the fact he had won the title began to sink in. Fadly got the better of Rafid to join the podium, while Muklada again shrugged off her left wrist injury to win a hard fight for fifth from wildcard, Sigit Purno Harjono, Anuparb, Anggi Setiawan, Rey Ratukore, Yossie Legisadewo, M. Faerozi and Nico Julian, and Peerapong Boonlert who were all split by just 1.5 seconds on the line.

With Rheza already declared champion with 193 points and Mario’s misfortunes, Anuparb moves into second place on 126 points, four ahead of Mario, while Awhin has 117, and Rafid 113.