The ARRC Official Tyre Test closed with Anupab Sarmoon clocking the fastest lap 1’36.003s, a hairsbreadth from lapping within the targetted 1’35s.

The Yamaha Thailand Racing Team rider was one of the most consistent riders over the two days. With his experience racing in the Buriram Superbike Championship as well as his intimate knowledge of the Chang International Circuit, Anupab was consistently 1’36 low every time he went out on track.

Kawasaki Thailand Racing Team’s Thitipong Warokorn did not better his fastest time from Day 1. 1’36.167s is still Thitipong’s best lap. The same went to his team mate, Chaiwichit Nisakul whose best time was clocked on Day 1, 1’36.460s.

Conversely, Indonesian rider Andi Farid Izdihar who was a part of the Honda Asia Dream Racing during their 2018 Suzuka 8 Hours campaign, has been marking improvements in every successive practice. Andi put in the most mileage over the two days – a whopping 169 laps – and clocked his best with 1’36.329s.

Australian Glenn Allerton bettered his laptimes on Day 2. The Next Gen Motorsports rider picked up a 1’36.713s on Practice 7 when he was spied trailing Anupab around the circuit.

Ratthapong Wilairot posted his quickest 1’36.774s during the eighth practice. The Yamaha Thailand Racing Team rider had done 135 laps over the two days in his quest to adapt his racing style to the Yamaha R1.

Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman did not improve on his Day 1 laptimes. His best lap stayed at 1’37.060s.

TJ Alberto from the Philippines high-sided on Turn 4 during his out-lap at the start of Day 2. Thankfully, TJ was not seriously injured and was able to re-join the practice later in the day to clock his best laptime so far, 1’37.246s.

Apart from the ASB1000 teams, a number of junior riders were also present at the Chang International Circuit testing for the 2019 SuperSports 600cc class. Peerapong Boonlert lapped a very quick 1’38.834s, surpassing the qualifying time in Round 6 (1’39.099 by Ratthapong Wilairot). Other young riders in the test included the Asia Production 250cc champion Rheza Danica Ahrens, Underbone 150cc champion Mohd Helmi Azman, as well as other Malaysian Underbone riders Mohd Hafiz Nor Azman, Ahmad Afif Amran, and Mohd Akid Aziz.

Further tests were also conducted for the Asia Production 250cc category using two Yamahas, two Hondas, and two Kawasakis for the purpose of gathering data for future regulations.

For full results, please visit: