Australian rider Broc Parkes has just snared provisional pole for Round 1 in the ASB1000 class of the 2019 FIM Asia Road Racing Championship. The Yamaha Racing Team ASEAN rider clocked 2’05.608s in the third free practice session.

Malaysian rider Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman is expected to give Parkes a run for his money. The ONEXOX TKKR SAG Racing Team rider brought his BMW S1000RR to within 0.80s of Parkes’s best time. At 2’05.688s, Azlan was the second fastest ASB1000 rider.

Thitipong Warokorn from the Kawasaki Thailand Racing Team outfit stayed consistent in third fastest with 2’06.333s. Apiwat Wongthananon, from the Yamaha Thailand Racing Team, also finished a creditable fourth with 2’06.387s.

Ahmad Yudhistira, the sole Indonesian on the ASB1000 grid, brought his stock standard R1 to fifth fastest with 2’06.448s, an incredible feat.

TJ Alberto from the Philippines bettered his time to 2’08.227s.

A number of injuries had resulted in a change to the rider make up of the ASB1000 grid. Patrick Li and Hafiq Azmi will be replaced by K. Rajini Krishnan and Farid Badrul Hisahm respectively. Both riders crashed out during the pre-season test.