The Astra Honda Racing Team had plenty to cheer about when Rheza Danica Ahrens, Mario Suryo Aji and Awhin Sanjaya made a clean sweep of the podium in the Asia Production 250cc Race 2.


It was a remarkable achievement especially considering both Mario and Awhin were pushed out of the leading group at the Lap 1/Turn1 bottleneck. Poleman Rheza was the only one to escape the melee as he blazed into the holeshot and made a clean getaway at the front. With a clean piece of track in front of him, Rheza was able to put in several good laps that saw him extend his lead to 6.2 seconds by Lap 3.


Mario and Awhin worked their way steadily up the grid. By Lap 4, Mario had arrived in the second pack and was engaging Rafid Topan Sucipto and Andy Muhammad Fadly for P2.  On Lap 5, Awhin joined into the fray, causing more disarray in the fight for the remaining two spots on the podium.


The biggest surprise was sprung by Muklada Sarapuech who popped onto the radar in P2 at the start of the eighth lap. However, a race incident involving Anggi Setiawan brought out the red flag and Race 2 was subsequently declared as complete.


Final race positions were taken from Lap 7 which automatically awarded 1-2-3 to Rheza, Mario and Awhin.


Rheza took his first AP250 double with a time of 15’01.965s. Mario claimed his third second-placed finish with 15’05.125s while Awhin grabbed his first podium of the season with 15’10.375s.


Anupab Sarmoon and Andy Muhammad Fadly rounded up the top five, followed by Anggi Setiawan, Muklada Sarapuech, Ahmad Afif Amran, Rafid Topan Sucipto and Peerapong Boonlert in the top 10.


Rheza secures his championship lead with 73 points. After Round 2, Mario is now ranked second with 66 points. Yamaha Thailand Racing Team’s Anupab Sarmoon is now third with 62 points.