The SuperSports 600cc showcased an extraordinary talent when Kota Arakawa of MOTO BUM HONDA bagged the winning title in Race 2, Round 3 of the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship which was held at Sugo International Racing Course.

It was Andi Farid Izdihar who broke into the lead position in the first lap. He then led on for three laps before Kota Arakawa took the speed of his machine one notch up, banking in P1 which he seemed to have accustomed to for the weekend.

With Kota steadily charging up lap after lap, Andi was left in P2, waiting to strike. But Kota was relentless as he kept on his fight to maintain his position. Andi did not have a choice but to keep tailing Kota for the next seven laps before he re-strategized and overtook his number one contender in lap 10.

But the battle was not over just yet. As there were another five more laps to go, it was then Andi’s turn to keep his speed up with Kota raging up behind him. Andi held on to P1 for the next three laps before being once again over-ridden by Kota. Towards the last lap, the neck-to-neck battle between Kota and Andi came to an end when the latter slipped while trying to switch positions with Kota.

With that, the winning title fell into the hands of Kota once again when he clocked in at 22’52:361s.

Commenting on the race, Kota said, “I guessed as much that the race would be a highly competitive one. My goal was to simply keep the top position throughout the race. I regret that I couldn’t but winning through tough bidding gave me a chance to progress.”

“I’d like to thank my team, sponsors and fans who have given me so much to look forward to with their support.”

Azroy Hakeem Anuar of Boon Siew HONDA Racing Team who has been maintaining his composure at P3 for nine laps grabbed the opportunity from Andi’s fall and took the second spot, logging in at 23’02:969s.

Azroy’s teammate, Md Helmi Azman took the third place when he crossed the finish line at 23’03:927s

Top 5 Winner – Race 2

  1. Kota Arakawa, MOTO BUM HONDA, 22’52:361s
  2. Azroy Hakeem Anuar, Boon Siew HONDA Racing Team, 23’02:969s
  3. Md Helmi Azman, Boon Siew HONDA Racing Team, 23’03:927s
  4. Nakarin Atiratphuvapat, HONDA Racing Team, 23’06:351s
  5. Muklada Sarapuech, Astemo SI Racing with Thai HONDA, 23’10:634s

Connect with Us!

Latest news at