A year after taking his first AP250 podium at The Bend Motorsport Park in Australia, Indonesian rider Andy Muhammad Fadly once again made sweet memories when he notched his first AP250 win at the 4.95km circuit.

Race 1 of the Asia Production 250cc was a 1-2 tango from the Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki Racing duo Fadly and Aiki Iyoshi. The two riders led the 9-lap race from start to finish until Fadly put the hammer down on the final lap to score his first win with 19’15.688s, 0.147s ahead of Aiki.

Muklada Sarapuech was a big part of the battle for P1 but a mistake by the AP Honda Racing Thailand rider dropped her down to third with 19’15.920s.

Tatchakorn Buasri and Rey Ratukore claimed the final two spots within the top-five.

Piyawat Patoomyos, Irfan Ardiansyah, Muzakkir Mohamed and Nazirul Izzat completed the race in sixth, seventh, eighth and ninth respectively. In tenth position, Indian rider Sethu Rajiv did well by completing the race with 19’40.936s.

Fadly has extended his lead at the top of the 250 championship ladder. He now leads with a total points haul of 65 points. Aiki Iyoshi has jumped up to second with 43 points and Muklada Sarapuech third with 41 points.

Fadly, who now leads fifth placed Awhin Sanjaya by 36 points, will be riding with a 500rpm handicap in Race 2.