Asia Production 250cc category Race 2 of IDEMITSU FIM Asia Road Racing Championship opening round at Chang International Circuit displayed another pulse-pounding race in Race 2 of the opening round of the IDEMITSU FIM Asia Road Racing Championship when ASTRA HONDA RACING TEAM rider, Herjun Atna Firdaus took breathtaking sprint to the finish line to claim victory.
The race commenced with Race 1 winner, Muhammad Faerozi Toreqottullah from YAMAHA Racing Indonesia making an impressive start, leading the pack with Cao Viet Nam from Honda Racing Vietnam Team and Herjun closely trailing behind. However, Viet Nam swiftly seized the lead on the second lap, with Faerozi and Herjun in hot pursuit.

As the race progressed, Herjun Atna Firdaus surged to the front on the third lap, however overtaken by Viet Nam on the following lap. The battle intensified with each passing lap, as the riders’ positions changed rapidly.

In a dramatic twist of events on the final lap, Herjun made a daring move to reclaim the lead from Aiki Iyoshi from Motul Sniper Manual Tech and Arai Agaska Dibani Laksana from YAMAHA Racing Indonesia. At the last turn, Viet Nam crashed as his machine grazed by Herjun’s immediately loosing balance and giving way for Herjun to claim victory at 18’54:072s.

Herjun said, “I want to thank my team for providing me with the best bike. Despite a misshift in the final lap, I remained determined to defend my position. Crossing the finish line in first place is an incredible feeling, and I’m grateful for the opportunity to compete at this level.”

At the second spot was Aiki Iyoshi from Motul Sniper Manual Tech who clocked in 18’54:246s.

Muhammad Syarifuddin Azman of IDEMITSU Boon Siew Honda Racing Team took third place when he logged in at 18’54:654s.

Top 5 Fastest – Race 2

  1. Herjun Atna Firdaus (ASTRA HONDA RACING TEAM) – 18’54:072s
  2. Aiki Iyoshi (Motul Sniper Manual Tech) – 18’54:246s
  3. Muhammad Syarifuddin Azman (IDEMITSU Boon Siew Honda Racing Team) – 18’54:654s
  4. Piyawat Patoomyos (EEST NJT Racing Team) – 18’54:679s
  5. Arai Agaska Dibani Laksana (YAMAHA Racing Indonesia) – 18’54:750s