The TVS ASIA One Make Championship roared into action at Round 2 of the IDEMITSU FIM Asia Road Racing Championship, facing the elements head-on as rain soaked the Zhuhai International Circuit. But to Japanese rider, Hiroki Ono, nothing stops him from grabbing the best result.

In Practice 1, Hiroki set the pace with impressive lap time of 1’56:408s to claim top spot. After Hiroki, Md Muzakkir Mohamed from Malaysia maintained his stable but fast riding to grab the second position with a commendable time of 1’57:630s, and Thailand rider, Vorapong Malahuan rounded off the top three with his best lap time of 1’57:685s.

As the rain slowed down in Practice 2, the battleground remained slippery, challenging the riders to push their limits. Hiroki Ono once again asserted his dominance, clocked the fastest lap time of 1’52:979s to maintain his lead. Sarthak Chavan of India surged forward watched him filling the second position with a remarkable time of 1’54:891s, showcasing his adaptability in adverse conditions, while Md Muzakkir Mohamed continued to impress, clinching the third position with a strong performance, clocking the fastest lap time of 1’55:022s.

The combined results from the practice sessions unveiled the true contenders in the field, with Hiroki as the fastest overall, setting a remarkable benchmark with his stellar performance. Sarthak and Muzakkir closely trailed behind, setting the stage for an exhilarating battle in tomorrow’s Qualifying session.

Hiroki said, “Today was the first time I rode TVS machine in wet track condition. We completed many laps and worked on setting up the bike and it felt good on the wet track condition too. And this week, I will be adjusting my riding style depending on the asphalt condition. I want to go full speed in dry track condition in Qualifying session, even in wet track comditiomn I will still aim for the pole position and make a time attack.”

Fastest Lap Time:
Practice Session (Combined)

  1. Hiroki Ono – Japan – 1’52:979s
  2. Sarthak Chavan – India – 1’54:891s
  3. Md Muzakkir Mohamed – Malaysia – 1’55:022s
  4. Vorapong Malahuan – Thailand – 1’55:232s
  5. Mohd Ramdan Rosli – Malaysia – 1’55:501s