After dominating the practice and qualifying sessions, Musashi Boon Siew Honda’s Yuki Takahashi made it a Saturday to remember after notching an emphatic race win in Race 1 in the SuperSports 600cc category at the season finale round of the 2015 FIM Asia Road Racing Championship in Buriram, Thailand.

Claiming his seventh successive race win, the victory on Saturday afternoon was enough for the Japanese to also clinch the riders’ championship title with one race to spare, adding to the team championship title, which the team was able to wrap up at the previous round in Qatar.

Although the Japanese did not have a great start losing the lead to Yamaha Thailand Racing team’s wildcard Decha Kraisart, it was temporary setback as Yuki managed to reclaim the lead by the end of the first lap, one that he did not relinquish right through to the chequered flag. Lapping consistently in the 1:39 mark throughout, Yuki’s lead was an unassailable one as he romped to an emphatic win with over a 10second gap to the rest of the field.

The newly crowned SuperSports 600cc champion, Yuki Takahashi notes, “I am so happy with this result today. I would like to thank my team and sponsors. This is an amazing, especially after the collected their fourth team title and to now also win the riders’ championship is a fantastic result! I did my maximum, but it would not have been possible to get the title today without the team. The level of competition is very high in this category so i knew i had to push very hard today to ensure a win.”
The fight for the remaining positions on the podium proved an exciting one involving Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki’s Ahmad Yudhistira and Yamaha Thailand Racing Team’s wildcard rider, Anucha Narkcharoensri in a battle royale for second place that went all the way to the final sequence of corners on the final lap. Struggling with tyre issues, it was the wildcard rider who prevailed claiming second, relegating Ahmad Yudhistira to third place.

In fourth place was Ratthapong Wilairot (AP Honda Racing Thailand) who managed to hold on to the position despite a spirited battle with Tomoyoshi Koyama (T. Pro Yuzy Honda NTS), who eventually settled for fifth.

Claiming seventh place was Astra Honda Racing Team’s Dimas Ekky Pratama ahead of best-placed Malaysian, Zaqhwan Zaidi (Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing) in eighth.

With the riders’ championship title already wrapped up, the fight for the runners-up position in the championship remains open between Tomoyoshi Koyama and Ahmad Yudhistira, which will be determined in the final race of the season on Sunday.