Malaysian duo Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda Asia-Dream Racing with SHOWA) and Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (ONEXOX TKKR SAG Team) dominated the first day of practice in the ASB1000 class as the 2019 FIM Asia Road Racing Championship returned to the Sepang Circuit for Round 6.

Zaqhwan snared provisional pole with his fastest lap, 2’06.502s but is still a second short of breaking the lap record (2’05.505s) set by Thitipong Warokorn in the season opener.

Azlan, on the other hand, had topped the timesheets in the first two practice sessions. He placed second fastest in the combined timesheets with 2’06.665s.

Yamaha Thailand Racing Team’s Apiwat Wongthananon logged a creditable third quickest time of 2’06.833s followed by championship leader Broc Parkes in fourth with 2’06.919s. Ahmad Yudhistira from the Victor Racing Team came in fifth with 2’07.331s.

Of note, wildcard Federico Sandi (Access Plus Racing Ducati Philippines Essenza Team) logged eighth fastest with 2’08.266s while Shahrulnizam Ramli posted a personal fastest lap of 2’11.896s in his first ARRC outing.