Even with the 2019 FIM Asian SuperSports 600cc title firmly in hand, there was no slacking off for Yamaha Thailand Racing Team’s Peerapong Boonlert. Just a day after lifting the 600cc crown, Peerapong was back in dominating form as he clinched his eighth win of the season with 21’50.449s

Race 2 flagged off with poleman Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin in the lead. But Peerapong quickly showed that he was not about to sit back and relax. Kasma lost the lead to Peerapong within a lap and came under pressure from Mohd Ramdan Rosli. As Lap 4 came around, the three riders quickly settled into race formation. The battle between Ahmad Afif Amran, Rheza Danica Ahrens and Passawit Thitivararak for P7 was the highlight until the final lap.

Kasma finally made his move on Peerapong on Lap 9, but had left it too late even though he was able to close in on his Thai rival. The two Yamaha riders were neck-to-neck down the back straight but a smart bit of racing from Peerapong saw the Thai rider diving into the last corner first, held his line and pipped Kasma to the finish line by 0.032s.

Peerapong’s latest feat also earned him bragging rights for the highest number of wins in a season, equaling the record set by Katsuaki Fujiwara in 2011 when the Japanese ace rider won the 600cc title. Should Peerapong pick up more wins in the final round, he will set a new record for the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship.

Kasma confirmed his second overall position on the 600cc standings when he finished second in the race with 21’50.481s. Ramdan Rosli nabbed another podium in third place with 21’50.925s.