Andy Muhammad Fadly got himself back into the title lead in style with a spectacular return to the podium in Race 2.

The Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki Racing rider had deliberately toned down his performance in the past two rounds, all in an effort to avoid picking up a second equalizer. However, come Race 2 in Round 6, Fadly had obviously decided that he had had enough of tiptoeing around the equalizer rule.

Fadly came back with his guns blazing when he streaked into the holeshot to take the early lead ahead of polesitter Muklada Sarapuech. Together, the two riders swapped leads for the majority of the race while Rey Ratukore (ONEXOX TKKR SAG Team), Awhin Sanjaya and Lucky Hendriansya formed the main thrust of the 8-bike leading group.

Muklada gained an advantage on Laps 6 and 7, but found herself caught up by the chasing pack as they stormed down the back straight. A final tricky last corner to negotiate and Muklada caught herself out when she locked her front wheel and highsided mere meters from the finish line.

Awhin Sanjaya jumped into the front and swooped up his second win of the season with 19’43.339s. Andy Muhammad Fadly took second place with 19’43.387s and Rey Ratukore third with 19’43.545s.

Fadly’s sixth podium of the year has put him back in the championship lead alongside Irfan Ardiansyah. Both riders are tied at the top with 176 points apiece. Irfan, the first among the AP250 riders to carry the second equalizer, finished fifth in race.