The Supersports 600cc category brought the heat to practice sessions at the Round 2 of the IDEMITSU FIM Asia Road Racing Championship, held at Zhuhai International Circuit, China, with different riders conquering each practice session that ended on Friday.

In Practice 1, the track came alive with Muhammad Helmi Azman of IDEMITSU Boon Siew Honda Racing Team leading the pack with a blazing lap time of 1’39:057s. Apiwath Wongthananon – YAMAHA TEKHNE Racing Team ASIA made it second at 1’39:647s followed by Mohammad Adenanta Putra – ASTRA HONDA RACING TEAM at 1’39:832s.

In Practice 2, Apiwath asserted his dominance, topping the session with the fastest lap time of 1’45:409s. Wahyu Nugroho of YAMAHA Racing Indonesia who clocked his best lap time of 1’46:441s and Thanat Laoongplio of Honda Racing Thailand at 1’46:783s filled the second and third spots respectively.

As Practice 3 started, Mohammad Adenanta Putra of ASTRA HONDA RACING TEAM displayed a impressive performance to clocked fastest lap time of 1’38:474s, solidifying his position as a front runner. Azroy and Rheza continued to impress with fastest lap time at 1’38:766s and 1’38:862s respectively, rounding out the top three position.

The combined practice results, Adenanta appeared as the fastest overall, while Azroy and Rheza closely followed suit, intensifying anticipation of a gripping showdown in tomorrow’s Qualifying session as they vie for pole position.

Adenanta said, “Today’s practice sessions’ intensity was high, where everyone was giving their very best to be on the top, And alhamdulillah, I clocked the fastest lap time despite the challenge from the wet track condition. There are more room to improve and improvements in terms of setup need to be done for me to perform better in tomorrow’s qualifying.”

Fastest Lap Time:
Practice Session (Combined)

  1. Mohammad Adenanta Putra – ASTRA HONDA RACING TEAM – 1’38:474s
  2. Azroy Hakeem Anuar – IDEMITSU Boon Siew Honda Racing Team – 1’38:766s
  3. Rheza Danica Ahrens – ASTRA HONDA RACING TEAM – 1’38:862s
  4. Wahyu Nugroho – YAMAHA Racing Indonesia – 1’38:959s  
  5. Muhammad Helmi Azman – IDEMITSU Boon Siew Honda Racing Team – 1’39:011s