Andy Muhammad Fadly (Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki Racing) has once again proven that the Indonesian riders are still in a league of their own in the Asia Production 250cc class. After a phenomenal win on Saturday, Fadly had to finish ahead of rivals Irfan Ardiansyah and Awhin Sanjaya (Astra Honda Racing Team) in the final race of the season at the Chang International Circuit to end Kawasaki’s 3-year title drought in the AP250 class.


The 10-lap race started with Fadly tucked into the leading group behind a charging Muklada Sarapuech (AP Honda Racing Team). Muklada, freed from the pressures of a title hunt, was intent on winning the race in front of her home crowd. Three successive quick laps from Muklada saw her pull ahead by 2.6 seconds. But Muklada’s rampage came to a premature end on Lap 4 when mechanical failure forced her out of the race.


Muklada’s departure left the three title contenders, Irfan, Awhin and Andy in charge of the top 15-rider group. It wasn’t long before Tatchakorn Buasri (AP Honda Racing Thailand) and Rafid Topan Sucipto (Bike Corner SYS KYT Racing Team) decided to try for the leading position.


While the battle raged on to the final lap, Andy was working hard to stay out of trouble. The Kawasaki rider tried to lead into Turn 3 but ran wide and dropped to P5 from P3. Rapidly running out of time, Andy used the superior grunt of his Kawasaki to get back into the lead at Turn 5. The Kawasaki rider led the group up to Turn 11 but was out-braked by Irfan at the entry into Turn 12. While Andy was trying to get his momentum back for a final sprint to the finish line, Rafid Topan ran wide at the apex and bulldozed into Irfan.


As the two riders skidded out onto the sidelines, Mohd Muzakkir Mohamed (ONEXOX TKKR SAG Team) was quick to sprint to the finish line in first place with Piyawat Patoomyos (AP Honda Racing Team) and wildcard Vorapong Malahuan (Yamaha Hispeed Racing Team) in tow. Andy was initially sixth across the line.


However, the Malaysian rider was later penalized for exceeding the track limit at Turn 12. Piyawat Patoomyos was eventually declared the winner of the 10-lap Race 2 with 19’11.373s. Vorapong Malahuan went up to second place and Awhin Sanjaya was third.


Lucky Hendriansya was also penalized for exceeding the track limit. Andy moved up from P6 to P4 on the official timesheets to add 13 more points to this year’s points haul. With 214 points, Andy became the third successive Indonesian to bring home the Asia Production 250cc title.


Irfan and Awhin had to concede the title win to Andy, but Astra Honda Racing Team is still the team to beat in the AP250 class. The Honda team has picked up 274 points out of 14 races and emerged at the top of the team standings, beating Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki Racing by 35 points.