When the IDEMITSU Boon Siew Honda Racing Team announced their arrival in the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship last year, the team’s objective was to start placing Malaysian riders on the Asia Production 250cc podium.


The team delivered on their promise in a big way at the 2020 season opener in Sepang when rookie rider Mohd Idlan Haqimi Raduan delivered the first Malaysian win in the AP250 class.


The 16-year-old did not enjoy the best of starts when he qualified 11th on the grid. But there was no stopping the determined young rider. By Lap 2, he had caught up with the front runners – Andy Fadly, Aiki Iyoshi and his own team mate Izam Ikmal. As the 8-lap race progressed, it was quickly apparent that it would be a Honda-Kawasaki battle for the podium.


The AP250 Race 1 drama revved up a notch in the final lap when polesitter Andy Fadly lost his gear lever at Turn 2. Unable to change gears, Fadly could only cruise to the finish line in P13.


With Fadly out of the group, Aiki Iyoshi was left to fend off the Honda duo on his own. The three riders took the battle right down the line when Aiki broke out of Idlan’s slipstream at the exit of the final corner. The two riders were neck to neck as they stormed towards the finish line, but the photo finish determined that Idlan had pipped Aiki by a mere 0.001 seconds.


Idlan logged his historic win with 19’40.866s. Aiki settled for second with 19’40.867s while Izam Ikmal gifted the IDEMITSU Boon Siew Honda Racing Team with a second podium finish when he took third place with 19’41.214s.


Behind the four leaders, Wahyu Nugroho, Shahrol Syazras Yuzy, Vorapong Malahuan, Rey Ratukore and Syafieq Aiman


Wahyu Nugroho, Shahrol Syazras Yuzy, Anggi Setiawan, Rey Ratukore and Vorapong Malahuan were caught up in a battle of their own in the second group, with particularly strong debut performance by Vorapong on the TVS.


AP250: Top 5 Qualifying Results


  1. Andy Fadly (INA) (Kawasaki)                 2’26.647s
  2. Izam Ikmal (MAS) (Honda)                    2’27.546s
  3. Aiki Iyoshi (JPN) (Kawasaki)                  2’28.249s
  4. Shahrol Syazras Yuzy (MAS) (Honda)   2’29.230s
  5. Anggi Setiawan (INA) (Yamaha)            2’29.328s



AP250: Top 5 Race 1 Results


  1. Idlan Haqimi Raduan (MAS) (Honda)   19’40.866s
  2. Aiki Iyoshi (JPN) (Kawasaki)                  19’40.867s
  3. Izam Ikmal (MAS) (Honda)                    19’41.214s
  4. Wahyu Nugroho (INA) (Yamaha)          19’53.450s
  5. Shahrol Syazras Yuzy (INA) (Honda)     19’53.506s