Indonesian rider and 2017 Underbone Asian champion Wahyu Aji Trilaksana ended a 2-year winning drought with bit of smart racing at the season opener of the 2020 FIM Asia Road Racing Championship at the Sepang International Circuit.


The ONEXOX TKKR SAG Racing Team rider who had consistently posted fastest times in the practice sessions, started the race from second on the grid when he clocked 2’35.006s in the qualifier.


As Race 1 flagged off, Wahyu tucked himself into the leading group, allowing Malaysians Ahmad Fazrul Sham and Akid Aziz to lead the pack across the start/finish line. The savvy Indonesian rider made his move at the start of the final lap when he pushed out of the slipstream into the lead.


Wahyu held on to his position up to the back straight but came under attack when the leading group caught up. At the last corner, Wahyu grimly hung on to the inside line while Fazrul attacked from the outside. The Indonesian was able to defend his position in the final sprint to the finish line and notched up his first Sepang career win with 15’36.063s.


Behind Wahyu, the Cardinals Racing Team reached a significant milestone when the team’s riders Ahmad Fazrul Sham qualified for pole position with 2’34.389s and Mohd Iqbal Abdul Malek earned the right to park his bike on P3 with 2’35.504s.


Fazrul led the group for the majority of the race, but was caught out by Wahyu in the final lap. Denied the win, Fazrul still brought home a first podium for the Cardinals Racing Team when he finished second with 15’36.108s.


Peerapong Luiboonpeng crossed the finish line in third with 15’36.138s.



UB150: Top 5 SuperPole Results


  1. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (MAS) (Yamaha)                2’34.389s
  2. Wahyu Aji Trilaksana (INA) (Yamaha)                2’35.006s
  3. Iqbal Abdul Malek (MAS) (Yamaha)                   2’35.504s
  4. Izzat Zaidi (MAS) (Yamaha)                                 2’35.606s
  5. Akid Aziz (MAS) (Yamaha)                                   2’35.784s


UB150: Top 5 Race 1 Results


  1. Wahyu Aji Trilaksana (INA) (Yamaha)             15’36.063s
  2. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (MAS) (Yamaha)                15’36.108s
  3. Peerapong Luiboonpeng (THA) (Yamaha)              15’36.138s
  4. Mohd Akid Aziz (MAS) (Yamaha)                        15’36.270s
  5. Wawan Wello (INA) (Yamaha)                            15’36.370s