With the top honours in the Asia Production 250cc category taken up by Astra Honda Racing Team’s Gerry Salim, former title contenders Anupab Sarmoon (Yamaha Thailand Racing) and Tomoyoshi Koyama (RAMA Honda) were left squabbling for second overall position.


Race 2 of the Asia Production 250cc category flagged off without Race 1 winner Rheza Danica Ahrens. The Astra Honda Racing Team rider, team mate to Gerry Salim, crashed during the Sunday morning warmup. The resulting broken collarbone kept him off the racing track.


Without the pressure of the title chase on his shoulders, Gerry Salim looked supremely relaxed for the last race of the season. Meanwhile, Anupab and Koyama braced for a titanic battle in the race to finish second overall.


Anupab leapt into the holeshot but was unable to keep his advantage for more than a corner. Despite starting the race from second row, Koyama was able to challenge Anupab for the lead by the middle of the first lap. The two familiar rivals locked horns for the full 10 laps, racing side-by-side to the finish line. Koyama stormed into the win in first place with 19’09.799s, a mere 0.040 seconds ahead of Anupab.


Behind the two riders, AP Honda Racing Team’s Muklada Sarapuech gave her best ARRC performance to date. Muklada held her own in a 7-bike swarm consisting of Gerry Salim, Peerapong Luiboonpeng, Peerapong Boonlert, Vorapong Malahuan, Awhin Sanjaya, and Galang Hendra Pratama. Muklada would have scored her first Asia Production 250cc podium at Race 2 if not for a mistake that ran her wide on the final lap.


Gerry Salim capitalized on Muklada’s mistake and slipped into third place with 19’17.532s. Peerapong Luiboonpeng, Peerapong Boonlert, Vorapong Malahuan and Awhin Sanjaya finished fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh respectively. Muklada dropped to eighth.


Gerry’s third place finish, his eighth podium of the season, solidified his status as 2017 Asia Production 250cc champion with 215 points. Koyama and Anupab tied with 188 points each but the Japanese rider won second overall position after having secured two wins ahead of Anupab’s one.


The Astra Honda Racing Team, 2017 Asia Production 250cc Team Champions, brought their points haul to a total of 257 points at the final count. Teams Rama Honda and Yamaha Thailand Racing were also tied with 188 points but the advantage went to the Honda outfit with more wins.