UMA Racing Yamaha Maju Motor Asia Team’s Mohd Akid Aziz gave a masterclass in the perfect underbone strategy when he won Race 1 against a 20-bike front group at the Chang International Circuit. This would be Akid’s first win of the season.

It has been a weekend of ups and downs for 2016 Underbone champion Akid. He broke the lap record during the free practice and set a new record for the underbones at the 4.55km Chang International Circuit. Akid was half a second faster during the qualifying but something went awry during the SuperPole and Akid lost his anticipated position on the front row, instead started the race from 15th on the grid.

Akid was quick to make up for lost ground and led the pack into Lap 1, but there was no breaking away from the chasing group. ONEXOX TKKR SAG Team’s Hafiza Rofa was dominant during the first half of the race, leading from laps two to four but Hafiza was unable to sustain his pace against the tide of riders behind him.

Meanwhile, Akid had opted to stay out of trouble before emerging in the lead again on Lap 7. The young Malaysian rider, no stranger to winning Underbone 150cc races, expertly threaded his way past the 20-bike group and was first across the finish line with 16’25.633s

Indonesian rider Richard Taroreh, racing in Pro-Liner 549 Kaboci Racing Team colours this year, also picked up his first ARRC Underbone podium in second place with 16’25.776s. Seasoned Malaysian campaigner Mohd Affendi Rosli claimed the final spot on the podium in third place with 16’26.017s

“The front group was bigger than usual and it was very difficult to strategize with attacks coming from all corners. I’m glad our plan worked out although I wish that my team mate, Haziq Fairues was standing beside me on the podium,” said Akid.

Haziq was the man with the pole advantage when he aced the SuperPole with 2’02.416s but finished 15th with 16’26.713s

Championship leader McKinley Kyle Paz picked up enough points from sixth to stay ahead on the championship standings. The Filipino rider leads with 51 points. Affendi Rosli ranks second with 44 points followed by Akid third with 41 points.