The Suzuka leg of the 2019 FIM Asia Ro­ad Racing Championship could potentially witness a new ARRC record in the making as 600cc supremo Peerapong Boonlert gears up to equal or break a 14-year-old record held by Toshiyuki Hamaguchi.

The longest winning streak recorded in the ARRC was logged by Hamaguchi who picked up seven consecutive SuperSports 600cc wins in 2005.

Since then, while hattricks have been relatively common, no other rider had been able to come close to the level of domination exhibited by Hamaguchi in the early days of the 600 class.

No other rider, that is, until Peerapong Boonlert, 14 years later. As the ARRC heads to the Suzuka Circuit for the fourth leg of the season, the Yamaha Thailand Racing Team rider will get the chance to rewrite the history books.

The odds are very much in favour for Peerapong as he embarks on his latest quest. Not only will he be buoyed by his winning momentum so far, Peerapong, a two-time Suzuka 4 Hour winner, is no stranger to the 5.8km Suzuka Circuit.

While Peerapong forges ahead with a 79-point advantage, four other riders are scrambling to get ahead. Astra Honda Racing Team’s Andi Farid Izdihar has finished within the top five in four out of the previous six races. With two second-place podiums to his name, Andi is second overall with 71 points.

Malaysians Azroy Hakeem Anuar and Adam Norrodin tie in third with 69 points apiece. Azroy has only finished on the podium once so far as opposed to Adam’s three. However, the SIC Junior ZK Racing rider lost out on points from Round 2 which clashed against his scheduled appearance in the CEV.

Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin is also still within reach of the title. The Malaysian maverick is fifth on the standings with 65 points.