The top 15 riders from Friday’s Underbone 150cc qualifier went out for the final SuperPole session for the 2019 season. This format of seeding the top-15 spots on the race grid will see the riders going out in batches of five. Each rider is flagged off individually to ensure that everyone has a clear piece of track in front of him. The idea is to take away the vital slipstream advantage and create a front grid that is based solely on machine and rider capability.


Young Aldi Satya Mahendra (Yamaha Racing Indonesia) led the first batch of five comprised of Gupita Kresna Wardhana, Peerapong Luiboonpeng, Mohd Faiz Zekri and Aditya Fauzi.


Aldi’s best time 2’03.044s was quickly eclipsed by the second group (Izzat Zaidi, Hafiza Rofa, McKinley Kyle Paz, Amirul Ariff Musa, and Wahyu Aji Trilaksana). Wahyu posted the fastest time among the second group with 2’02.694s.


The third and final batch of riders were made up of the top five fastest riders from Friday’s qualifying session – Haziq Fairues, Affendi Rosli, Rozaiman Said, Ahmad Fazli Sham, and lap record holder Akid Aziz.


However, it was Haziq Fairues (UMA Racing Yamaha Maju Motor Asia Team) who stole the limelight when he claimed pole position with 2’02.470s. Wahyu Aji Trilaksana’s time was good enough to keep him on front row followed by his ONEXOX TKKR SAG Team team mate, Ahmad Fazli Sham on P3.


Top Friday qualifier and championship leader Akid Aziz will lead the second row with Izzat Zaidi and McKinley Kyle Paz.