Mohd Haziq Fairues has put his bid in for the 2019 Underbone 150cc Asian champion when he scored his first win of the season at Round 6 of the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship at the Sepang International Circuit.

Race 2 for the Underbone 150cc class got off with poleman Akid Aziz serving out a controversial ride-through penalty for irresponsible riding in Race 1 on Saturday. In a 6-lap race with 35 bikes on the grid, the penalty effectively put Akid out of podium contention for Race 2.

The UMA Racing Yamaha Maju Motor Asia Team rider elected to serve out the penalty on Lap 1, giving himself more time to catch up and collect as many points as possible. At the front, Fernando Masato led the pack into the first lap even as Akid rejoined the group in P32.

On Lap 2, Mohd Faiz Zekri from the ONEXOX TKKR SAG Team pushed his way to the front, with Mohd Izzat Zaidi, Affendi Rosli, Aldi Satya Mahendra, and Haziq Fairues in tow.

A number of retirements brought championship leader Akid closer to the front group. Notably, Mohammad Murobbil Vitoni crashed out on Lap 3 followed rapidly by Wawan Wello sputtering to the side of the grid.

On Lap 4, both championship leaders Akid Aziz and McKinley Kyle Paz were still out of points contention even though a determined Akid put in the fastest lap of the race, 2’31.525s.

More crashes at the last corner allowed Haziq Fairues a bit of breathing space at the sharp end of the group. As he came into the final two corners of the race, Haziq was able to carve out a small lead at the front, enough space to keep the horde from his back. Haziq crossed the finish line uncontested in first place with 15’36.361s. It was a day of many firsts for the riders celebrating on the podium – Haziq’s first win of the season, and Faiz Zekri’s first UB150 podium when he finished second with 15’36.728s. Aldi Satya Mahendra finished third with 15’37.608s.

Further down the grid, championship leaders Akid and McKinley crossed the finish line in 13th and 10th places respectively. The two riders netted enough points to stay at the front of the title chase. Akid still leads with 119 points while Kyle stays in second overall with 111 points.