It was not an easy feat with an unpredictable temperament in the Underbone 150cc race category however Md Nazirul Izzat Bahauddin of UMA RACING YAMAHA MAJU MOTOR ASIA TEAM moved swiftly alongside more than twenty riders to make the most and best of Race 2, Round 2 of Idemitsu FIM Asia Road Racing Championship before claiming victory.

It is a common scene in the UB150 challenge for riders at the back to move up into the lead position within seconds. Yesterday saw multiple exchange of positions among riders however Wawan was striking at the last corner when was stayed focused despite the chaos of the casualty and went on to put on one last fight with his closest contender, Murobbil before bolting ahead.

It was a good start for Wawan who was at the pole position. He immediately took lead at the first turn and dashed ahead. Unfortunately, seconds into the race, Wawan encountered issues with the machine and was out of the equation for the day. Wahyu however found his way to the lead position by the end of lap 1 with Fazli Sham and Haziq Fairues close behind. By the end of lap 2, Murobbil pulled himself up the line while Haziq and Nazirul motioned into P2 and P3.

By mid-race, Nazirul was taking lead and from all the way back, Izam Ikmal moved up and positioned himself at P2. With two more laps to go, the riders were fiery, fuelled to succeed. At the last corner, as riders embraced for one final push, it was strategizing at place when Nazirul slip-streamed ahead of Hafiza Rofa for a dramatic finish. He clocked in at 15’43:701s.

Commenting on the race, Nazirul said, “I put on a good fight from the start of the lap till the end. Each lap posed different kind of challenge but I was determined to surpass it. I gave my best shot throughout, knowing that at the end of the day, it is not just the act of mastery but also fate. Ultimately, today’s win is a blessing from Allah. I am truly happy and grateful. Thank you to my mum especially for the endless support and of course not forgetting, the team who have been there throughout.”

Second and third place went to Md Shafiq Rasol and Md Hafiza Rofa at 15’43:710s and 15’43:715s respectively.

Connect with Us!

Latest news at asiaroadracing.com