Now that Rheza Danica Ahrens and the Astra Honda Racing Team have got the Asia Production 250cc rider and team trophies in the bag, what’s left for the sophomore class of the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship as it heads to its final round in Buriram this coming December 1 and 2?


As it turns out, plenty! Only four points separate Anupab Sarmoon and Mario Suryo Aji in the fight for second overall position. Awhin Sanjaya, Rafid Topan Sucipto, and Andy Muhammad Fadly are also in the running to finish as the first runner up. Currently standing seventh overall in the rankings, Muklada Sarapuech, also has a shot at leapfrogging up the ladder.


Of the two main contenders Anupab and Mario, the Indonesian rookie has had the more consistent podium record (six podiums so far) while Anupab will be banking on the home ground advantage.